U21A 1992

Back Row: Seamus Fox, Fergal Clancy, Mike Naughton,Morgan Darcy, Walter McDonagh, Caoimh Davoren, Tommy Keady, Michael DunneFront Row: Ronan Hanley, Adrian McDonagh, Shane

McLoughlin, Vinnie Fox, Hughie Molloy, Tom Faherty,

Peter Hanley

Panel: 1992

Niall Faherty, Cathal Dunne, Paul Newell, Ger Treacy, David Walsh, Barry Sullivan, Niall Thornton, Tom Naughton, Francis Naughton, Ultan Faherty

The 1992 U21 A Hurling Champions had previously won a Minor B title in 1989 and, having achieved success at that level, they resolved to take on the U21 Championsip in 1991. The team lost narrowly to a Joe Rabbitte led Athenry in the 1991 final (played early 1992). Rabbitte had captained Galway to an U21 All Ireland in 1991. However, with only Brian Darcy ineligible in 1992, they were back again with all of the previous year's experience to triumph. The one point win in the final against Castlegar was preceded by notable victories against Turloughmore, Portumna and sweetest of all a one point quarter final win over Athenry. In

1993, eight from the team above were still eligible, and in early 1994 they took eventual champions,Kilconieron, led by the 1993 U21 All Ireland winning captain, Liam Burke, to four games before being defeated.

No U21 team since has achieved the A level this group achieved in any one of their three campaigns. The group formed the core of the Intermediate team throughout the Nineties carried the hopes of the club valiantly. However, disrupted by emigration and injury, two heartbreaking semi-final defeats was to be their lot. In general their committment to Moycullen hurling has rarely waned. At least eight are current or recent officers and/or selectors with the club. When the club finally achieved Intermediate success in 2011, Morgan Darcy and Caoimh Davoren were still in the panel and Fergal Clancy, Tom Faherty and Peter Hanley were all part of the backroom team, while Caoimh, Adrian McDonagh, Seamus Fox were the selectors of the Junior team that year. Earlier that year, Shane McLoughlin had been Club Féile officer when Galway hosted the National Féile na nGael festival. Adrian McDonagh is Chairperson of the club for 2014.